Rev War  |  Museum

Concord Museum

53 Cambridge Turnpike
Concord, MA 01742
United States

Get Directions

Outside of the Concord Museum
Once a private collection, the Concord Musuem displays the collection for the public.

From a Private to Public

The Concord Museum began as the private collection of Cummings Davis, who moved to Concord in 1850. Initially, he displayed his collection of historic artifacts in rented rooms in the town’s courthouse. In 1886, the newly formed Concord Antiquarian Society acquired the collection and bought a house in 1887 to display it. The Society moved to a new building in 1930 and changed their name to the Concord Museum in 1984. Among the objects in its collection are one of the signal lanterns from the Old North Church used on the night of Paul Revere’s ride. The Museum also owns the largest collection of objects related to Henry David Thoreau, including the lock and key from the jail cell where Thoreau was confined after his refusal to pay a tax because of his antislavery principles, which inspired his famous essay on civil disobedience.

Today, visitors can explore the Concord Museum to see these artifacts and more. Nearby, Minute Man National Historical Park offers a comprehensive understanding of the opening battle of the American Revolution, including sites like the North Bridge and the Minute Man Statue. Additionally, the Old Hill Burying Ground and the Concord Free Public Library provide further insights into the area's rich history.

 

Related Battles

Massachusetts | April 19, 1775
Result: American Victory
Estimated Casualties
393
American
93
British
300

The Battlefields Today